Great Expectations

Today, I woke up anxious. I don’t know why particularly today this morning I was anxious whereas other dates I’m not, but there you have it.

I ate my breakfast, drank my coffee, and decided to go for a run. It would be a five mile run. I thought about how I would do it. I could stretch it out by walking one, running one for a total of 10 – 11 miles. Or, I could run 1 1/2 … or 2,2, and 1. Or I could run 2 2 1/2s. I decided I would walk one and then wait and see.

The run felt good and free and I decided to run all the way to 2 1/2. I passed my friend Rob who is married to my colleague Laura. I reached the limit and passed by him again, this time walking.

Rob and I are the same age. He’s more religious than I. He begins discussing his running, he had a hip replacement last fall. A second opinion doctor has cleared him to run. But he’s twenty five pounds heavier than he was. I laugh and tell him about the fifteen I put on this fall to winter. Rob’s other hip has begun to hurt him too. He’s got two running plans this fall, a run with buddies over a week in Germany, and a marathon. I keep my opinion about his ambitions to myself. Who’s to say he won’t do it? He lets on then that he has a plan to have the other hip done this fall.

I’m going to close now. I stopped running to write this post and now I’m chilly. Today I crossed 18 for the week. Really running now, I guess.

SSW

Leave a comment