Mystery

Well, today I just got my three miles run. Finished after nine o’clock. This enables me to not have to run tomorrow on the final day of trial. Tomorrow I’m going in early to hopefully hammer out the instructions. I have several emails from counsel. I am thinking that the lawyers have mis-under-estimated the amount of work left.

Today belongs to the defendant. It may mean nothing as there is still a chance that he’ll be convicted of the most serious charges. If so, he’ll likely die in prison, even if he receives the minimum sentence.

If he’s not convicted of the most serious charges, then the sentence opens significantly. With no record, they will advocate for a suspension of all remaining time. The State can still advocate that he receive 30 years hard time. He’s probably going to get out of jail. I luckily do not have to decide whether he gets a murder or a lesser included. I just have to sit and wait. But then I have to decide.

That’s ok. I’m used to waiting. And deciding. And I’m used to running. Which is what I’ve been able to do now for nine of the seventeen days of this month. I’ve been able to just keep on running. These days are long and lonely. It’s a mystery to me. It really is.

SSW

Leave a comment