The Business I Chose

So I thought I’d start a new page, turn the page if you will, on my running permutations. The gentle reader will recall my earlier recitements about the dilemma of running back to back days. I hemmed and I hawed about what to do, ultimately deciding to adhere to my program of every other day.

So the cootie in the woodpile, if you will, (to borrow a very politically incorrect phrase dropped on me by a superior some twenty plus years ago) was what to do if time ran short. What to do if I was tired. What did I do?

Sure enough, both happened. I finished my three miles after seven o‘clock. And I was tired. I swear to God, I felt a hint of a pull. I am somewhat scrupulous in my analysis, but there it was, forty-eight hours from my last run.

I think I’m going to have to back off long walks. Why did I need to walk so far on Sunday? I really did not. But there shall be no diminishment in running every other day. Anyway, tomorrow is day two of the trial… whereupon I, who owes the beast nothing by way of running, shall sit and wait. I expect only a few steps more than 10,000. Then there is Wednesday. Cruel, cruel Wednesday… where he who also runs must judge.

But alas and alack… this is the business I chose! 😂

SSW

Leave a comment